Universes in Universe - Worlds of Art

Documenta 12
16 June - 23 September 2007

Documenta

Foto-Rundgang durch die Documenta 12, 2007

>> Photo Tour
Works by 33 participants
and venues

Documenta 12, 2007

Kassel, Germany

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In December 2003, when the selection committee chose Roger M. Buergel (* 1962 Berlin), a German who lives in Vienna, to be Artistic Director of documenta 12, he was hardly known even in Germany. Many commentators tried to explain this decision with the idea that the excessive intellectuality of the two previous documenta exhibitions, the exposition would now focus more on the sensual quality of art. The often nebulous statements from Buergel, who heads documenta 12 together with his wife Ruth Noack, could at least lead one to conclude that this was their interest.

The preparatory phase of documenta 12 could be followed only vaguely, as is shown by the three leitmotifs announced by the two curators as their orientation: Is modernity our antiquity? What is bare life? And in regard to education: What is to be done? There was little advance notice of names of participating artists whose works would exemplify these themes. Buergel and Noack did not present the list of artists until the press conference shortly before the opening.

It is odd that the strong presence of participants from Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Eastern Europe is still so intensely commented in the media. One might have thought that, since documenta 11 was headed by Okwui Enwezor, their inclusion had become a matter of course. The artists’ backgrounds cannot be made out in the exhibition, because the signs accompanying the works provide absolutely no information on the artists. Their names are not even found in the press kit, though the two curators show no reticence at all about providing information on their own biographies.

We do not intend to review documenta 12 here. Those familiar with our numerous photo tours of biennials and other exhibitions know that our primary interest is in providing those who cannot attend them in person with a visual impression of the works by participants from Africa, Asia, and Latin America – the focus of our project. Those who want to can at least form their own opinion. On the photo pages of our tour of the documenta 12, however, we have published a few remarks on the exhibition itself.

In all brevity, this much: Of course, many interesting works and constellations of works can be found at this documenta, with its more than 500 artworks by 113 artists. That few stars of the international art industry are represented is no deficiency at all. But it seems to us that it is going too far to regard this as a refusal of the art market. After all, behind other artists, here in part represented by too many works, stand the interests of galleries or collectors – and these interests are clearly served. Despite occasional bright spots, this documenta leaves a rather weak impression – because of the diverse theoretical ambitions that are not fulfilled and in part because of major curatorial weaknesses. These are especially obvious in the wretched Aue Pavilion (see our tour). This twelfth edition in no way fulfills the claim, found again in the official statements, that the documenta is “an authoritative worldwide seismograph of contemporary art”. It has arrived in the precinct of normality, which means it has become one periodic art exhibition among many others and has forfeited its former status as a “world exposition” and guiding star of international art. But this status would probably be impossible to maintain anyway in today’s polycentric world.

Gerhard Haupt and Pat Binder

(Translation from German: Mitch Cohen)

Print version

 

Organizer:

documenta and Museum
Fridericianum Veranstaltungs-GmbH

Friedrichsplatz 18
D-34117 Kassel
Germany

Phone: (+49 561) 70 72 70
Fax: (+49 561) 70 72 739

Email: office@documenta.de

Website: www.documenta12.de

 

 

16 June - 23 September 2007

Kassel
Germany

Artistic director:
Roger M. Buergel

Curator:
Ruth Noack

List of artists
All the participants
with short biographies

official website

See also:

D12 Magazines Mania
A Southeast Asian critique of the D12 magazines project.
By Kean Wong.
In: Nafas Art Magazine

 

 

Note:
The facts have been compiled from information of the organizer and other sources. We do not assume responsibility regarding the correctness of this information. See the Disclaimer.
Gerhard Haupt and Pat Binder, Universes in Universe

 

 

 

Documenta 14, 2017
10 June - 17 September 2017. Artistic Director: Adam Szymczyk.

Documenta 13, 2012
9 June - 16 September 2012. Artistic direction: Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev. Curatorial team - Agents; Advisory Committee.

Documenta 11
8 June - 15 Sept. 2002. Artistic Director: Okwui Enwezor. Co-curators: Carlos Basualdo, Ute Meta Bauer, Susanne Ghez, Sarat Maharaj, Mark Nash, Octavio Zaya. 118 artists and artist groups.

documenta X
21 June - 28 September 1997. Artistic Director: Catherine David.

 

 

Documenta

Universes in Universe - Welten der Kunst

Documenta 12
16. Juni - 23. September 2007

Documenta

Foto-Rundgang durch die Documenta 12, 2007

>> Foto-Rundgang
Werke von 33 Teilnehmern, Ausstellungsorte

Documenta 12, 2007

Kassel, Deutschland

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Als die Auswahlkommission den in Wien lebenden Deutschen Roger M. Buergel (* 1962 Berlin) im Dezember 2003 zum künstlerischen Leiter der Documenta 12 ernannte, ist er selbst in Deutschland kaum bekannt gewesen. Etliche Kommentatoren versuchten, diese Entscheidung damit zu erklären, dass es nach der Kopflastigkeit der beiden vorhergehenden Editionen nun wieder mehr um die sinnliche Qualität der Kunst gehen sollte. Aus den oft nebulösen Äußerungen Buergels, der die Documenta 12 gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau Ruth Noack leitet, konnte zumindest der Schluss gezogen werden, dass es den beiden wohl darum gehen würde.

Wie wenig konkret die Vorbereitungsphase der Documenta 12 nachzuvollziehen war, ist an den drei Leitmotiven zu erkennen, die von den beiden Kuratoren als ihre Orientierung verkündet wurden: Ist die Moderne unsere Antike? Was ist das bloße Leben? Und bezogen auf die Bildung: Was tun? Vorab wurden kaum Namen von Künstlern preisgegeben, die mit ihren Werken dafür stehen sollten. Die Künstlerliste rückten Buergel und Noack erst zur Pressekonferenz kurz vor der Eröffnung heraus.

Es ist schon merkwürdig, dass die starke Präsenz von Teilnehmern aus Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika und Osteuropa in den Medien noch so viel Erwähnung findet, dachte man doch, bereits mit der von Okwui Enwezor geleiteten Documenta 11 sei deren Einbeziehung selbstverständlich geworden. In der Ausstellung ist die Herkunft der Künstler nicht zu erkennen, denn auf den Exponatschildern fehlen jegliche Angaben zur Person. Diese findet man nicht einmal in der Pressemappe, während die beiden Kuratoren hinsichtlich ihrer eigenen Biografien keinerlei Zurückhaltung zeigen.

Es soll an dieser Stelle keine Rezension der Documenta 12 folgen. Wer unsere zahlreichen Fotorundgänge durch Biennalen und andere Ausstellungen kennt, wird wissen, dass unser Anliegen in erster Linie darin besteht, denjenigen, die diese nicht besuchen konnten, einen visuellen Eindruck von den Werken der Teilnehmer aus Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika - dem Fokus unseres Projekts - zu vermitteln. Wer will, kann sich zumindest dazu eine eigene Meinung bilden. Auf den Fotoseiten unseres Rundgangs durch die Documenta 12 haben wir aber auch einige Anmerkungen zur Ausstellung an sich veröffentlicht.

In aller Kürze nur so viel: Sicher sind in dieser Documenta mit ihren über 500 Werken von 113 Künstlern zahlreiche interessante Arbeiten und Werkkonstellationen zu finden. Dass kaum Stars des internationalen Kunstbetriebs vertreten sind, fällt keineswegs als Mangel auf. Darin eine Verweigerung gegenüber dem Kunstmarkt zu sehen, scheint uns jedoch zu weit zu gehen. Schließlich stehen auch hinter anderen, hier zum Teil mit übermäßig vielen Werken vertretenen Künstlern Interessen von Galerien oder Sammlern, die durchaus bedient werden. Trotz gelegentlicher Lichtblicke hinterlässt diese Documenta einen eher schwachen Eindruck, was an diversen nicht eingelösten theoretischen Behauptungen und zum Teil erheblichen kuratorialen Schwächen liegt. Diese sind in dem unsäglichen Aue-Pavillon besonders offenkundig (siehe unseren Rundgang). Dem in den offiziellen Verlautbarungen erneut zu lesenden Anspruch, die Documenta sei "ein weltweit verbindlicher Seismograph der zeitgenössischen Kunst", wird diese 12. Edition keinesfalls gerecht. Sie ist in der Normalität angekommen, was bedeutet, dass sie zu einer periodischen Kunstausstellungen unter vielen geworden ist und ihren früheren Status als "Weltausstellung" oder gar Leitstern der internationalen Kunst eingebüßt hat. Aber wahrscheinlich wäre dieser in der heutigen polyzentrischen Welt ohnehin nicht mehr zu halten.

Gerhard Haupt und Pat Binder

Druckversion

 

Veranstalter:

documenta und Museum
Fridericianum Veranstaltungs-GmbH

Friedrichsplatz 18
D-34117 Kassel
Deutschland

Tel.: (+49 561) 70 72 70
Fax: (+49 561) 70 72 739

Email: office@documenta.de

Website: www.documenta12.de

 

 

16. Juni - 23. September 2007

Kassel
Deutschland

Künstlerischer Leiter:
Roger M. Buergel

Kuratorin:
Ruth Noack

Künstlerliste
Alle Teilnehmer mit
Kurzbiografien

offizielle Website

Siehe auch:

D12 Magazin-Manie
Eine Kritik des D12 Magazin-Projekts.
Von Kean Wong.
In: Nafas Kunstmagazin

 

 

Hinweis:
Die Daten haben wir aus Informationen des Veranstalters zusammengestellt. Für die Richtigkeit übernehmen wir keine Gewähr. Siehe den Haftungsausschluss.
Gerhard Haupt und Pat Binder, Universes in Universe

 

 

 

Documenta 14, 2017
10. Juni - 17. September 2017. Künstlerischer Leiter: Adam Szymczyk.

Documenta 13, 2012
9. Juni - 16. September 2012. Künstlerische Leitung: Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev. Kuratorenteam - Agenten; Advisory Committee.

Documenta 11, 2002
8. Juni - 15. Sept. 2002. Künstlerischer Leiter: Okwui Enwezor. Ko-Kuratoren: Carlos Basualdo, Ute Meta Bauer, Susanne Ghez, Sarat Maharaj, Mark Nash, Octavio Zaya. 118 Künstler und Gruppen.

documenta X, 1997
21. Juni - 28. September 1997. Künstlerische Leitung: Catherine David.

 

 

Documenta